Known as one of Zamboanga del Sur’s oldest towns, Dimataling is a 4th class municipality situated at the eastern part of the Baganian Peninsula, south of Pagadian City, comprising the western shores of Illana Bay; bounded by the municipalities of Dinas and San Miguel on the North; by Illana Bay on the east; by the Municipality of Tabina and Pitogo on the South; and by portions of the Municipalities of Margusatubig, Vincinso Sagun and Maligay Bay on the West. It has a total land area of 11,343.73 hectares where 89.58% is devoted for agriculture.